Playing with pencils for digi stamps

Normally when I colour I use Pro-markers, but sometimes alcohol markers are not the most convenient thing – especially when you have a printed image.   I wanted to play with my coloured pencils (as I love digi-stamps).  I have two boxes of coloured pencils, one being Crayola, and the other a box of 30 mixed colours from Wilko which cost about £1.99, and there is honestly not a lot of difference between them.  My only reason for choosing the Crayola first would be because this has a skintone colour in it which I use all the time whichever set I happen to have out at the time.  As the colours are slightly different more often that not, both sets are out and I use whichever shade seems right at the time regardless of which set they belong to.  So here are the results;-

DSCF5025

on the next ones I cut the coloured images out

DSCF5027

I love this Precious Moments image and she is ideal for the OOP’S I FORGOT type card.

If you have never used Digi Stamps then do give them a go,  there are some fantastic designs out there, and there are lots of freebies too.  One of my favourite sites for freebies is Dearie Dolls, (new designs added every few days), but you can google or go to Pinterest to find lots too.  For purchased designs then try  Make It Crafty or My Besties.  Digi stamps are excellent value – no ink needed, perfect image every time, you choose the image size, and no storage solutions needed as they are right there on the computer.

Hope you have enjoyed.

Hugs

signature

 

 

 

 

 

About stitchingranny

I am one of those people who need to have busy hands so whether its stitching or papercrafting, I am always doing something. I also love being in the garden, though hubby does most of the work there these days.
This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Playing with pencils for digi stamps

  1. kathyreeves says:

    I love how colored pencils make shading easy. Even my stuff looks good when I color with them and remember to graduate the colors. Your cards with this technique are wonderful.

    Like

  2. I have that owl picture pinned on Pinterest for an embroidery one day!! Lovely work Helen, really great cards.

    Like

  3. claire93 says:

    lovely! perfect for a water colour effect. I love your little Japanese girl ^^

    Like

  4. Thank you Claire, I have a few of these little girls and have used them well in the past.

    Like

Leave a Reply

