The good, the bad and the ugly…

Hi folks,

The good, was yesterday when I had to pop into town.  The shop I needed to visit was just a few doors from B&M so a little visit whilst in that direction.  Not that there is often much there – a small branch and rarely has the kind of things I find at Spondon.  However I have been looking for some sentiments for my cards and a card with 8 small ones was 1.99 in the Range – not expensive but a bit much for what they were I thought. So imagine my surprise when I saw Goodie bags containing the same set of sentiments and they were 1.99 for the bag.  Each set in its own zipper bag was a different colour so I decided to treat myself to a Purple, a Pink and an Aqua set.  This is what I got for my 1.99.DSCF6271The zip bag contained: afore mentioned sentiment tags, gems, buttons, flower shapes, 6 cards (in three differing shades) with envelopes, 12 – 8 x 8 papers and 6 – 6 x6 papers.  The price on the bag actually says 2.99 but even at that price they would have been excellent value.

The bad, was really more odd than anything else.  The sketch for September over at the Christmas card group is this 9 SEPTEMBERNot very appealing but I will have a go so grabbed what looked a good selection and set too – (not really concentrating as you will see).  I finished and was pleased until I noticed the sentiment.  (What the heck;) this is more the sort of thing you expect to get for putting on a parcel as a gift tag rather than a sentiment – very odd.DSCF6265

The ugly, is me.  Two weeks after a bad extraction my face still was swollen and I was still experiencing pain, so back to the dentist.  I had a severe infection and my face was swelling daily.  I have been given antibiotics and after getting firstly worse the swelling is I am now pleased to say starting to diminish.  My right eye is still slightly closed and if the colouring was right I would certainly look like I had done a few rounds in a boxing ring.

Because of the pain I have not been in the mood to stitch in the evening though I did get closer to the corner before putting it down.  I haven’t even made many cards. Another card for the sketch challenge DSCF6274and one for next weeks theme challenge which is to make a card with a white bow, a bird and the word peace.  Other things can be added but they have to be the main elements.DSCF6276 I also made two birthday cards the first being a grunge card – I like these but find them a bit out of my comfort zone.  DSCF6266   Lastly I had a new set of stamps arrived yesterday.  There are several stamps each which go to make up the layers of a Peony Flower and a leaf.  I made three flowers and fussy cut them.  After working out where I wanted to place them on my card I stamped a sentiment and they the leaves.  I then added the flowers with dimensional glue gel.  I am really pleased with my first attempt at this kind of stamping.DSCF6278

Hope to be back with you soon.

Hugs

signature

About stitchingranny

I am one of those people who need to have busy hands so whether its stitching or papercrafting, I am always doing something. I also love being in the garden, though hubby does most of the work there these days.
This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The good, the bad and the ugly…

  1. kathyreeves says:

    So glad you are healing up after that nasty extraction! It is amazing how one little piece of food can cause so many complications. At least they got you fixed up and you are on the mend! You really got a great deal with those little goodie bags, you will turn them into wonderful greetings I know. Merry Christmas Love works for a sweetheart or spouse I think! I love the bird and white bow, just beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sorry to hear you have had such a hard time with your tooth, hopefully you are well on the road to recovery now. What a beautiful selection of cards and a great bargain from B&M. x

    Like

  3. Thanks – I am tempted to go back and see if they have any more colours lol xx

    Like

Leave a comment