SAL Sunday – again

wow that has come round so fast this time, maybe because I have not been doing too much stitching.  I am getting close to the end in more ways than one.  Two of the threads I managed to make stretch to the last stitch and two I have ran out of with a few more stitches to do.  I am not too worried about this as there are conversion charts out there and for how little is left it will not (I hope) be noticeable if there is a tiny variation in the colour.  At least I do now know that both sides will meet in the middle as they should. So here is where it was last time around.DSCF5310and this is how it looks this morningDSCF5498

This SAL is great, everyone is working on their own chosen project and at their own pace, so unlike other SALs there is no competition; just a great bunch of people who have your back and give you lots of encouragement to stick with it.  So the ideal platform, for those like me, who are struggling with old ufo’s, or big projects, that they really would love to see finished.  If you would like to join us then please contact Avis (first on the list) and in the mean time why not have a trip round the world and see what other projects are being done.

Avis, Claire, Gun, Carole, LucyAnn, Kate, Jess, Sue, Constanze, Debbierose, Christina, Kathy, Margaret, Cindy, Helen, Steph, Linda, Catherine, Mary Margaret, Timothy, Heidi, Connie.

I have a few more Christmas cards to share but will save them for another day.  I will however share what I am playing with at the moment.

As anyone who follows my blog on a regular basis will know I am addicted to stamps.  I have lots, but what I do not have is the skills to go with them.  So determined to get to grips with this I have been playing with my new birthday stamps.  the one with the fawn, is my first attempt at masking to do a background.  I so admire those who stamp, and the versatility that stamping brings to card making.  I have even treated myself to some lovely water colour card – though at the moment I am still working on scraps from my left over box. These two are from a lovely Hobby Art stamp set called Fawn and Flora, from my lovely friend Terri.

So back to playing now and later I will do my visiting to see what everyone else is up to.

Hugs to you all

signature

 

 

About stitchingranny

I am one of those people who need to have busy hands so whether its stitching or papercrafting, I am always doing something. I also love being in the garden, though hubby does most of the work there these days.
This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to SAL Sunday – again

  1. katechiconi says:

    It’s really starting to look like one piece instead of two separate pictures; that carriage in the middle ties everything together. Lots done this time, despite what you think!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. claire93 says:

    little and often, it’s coming along nicely!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. kathyreeves says:

    I think you accomplished a lot this round, there’s the horses done, the new carriage. It is going to be awesome when complete!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Catherine says:

    Wow, you have really done a lot! It’s always frustrating running out of thread, and it sounds like you are stretching it as much as possible. I’m sure you will find satisfactory substitute and only you will now where you had to use it!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Brilliant! Keep going and you’ll soon have it on the wall 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. It’s looking great and the cards are lovely too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. rutigt says:

    Looking good and I think you have stitch a lot since last time!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Carole says:

    This is looking lovely. You can really see what you’ve achieved since last time 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. lucyannluna says:

    It’s looking great, have you got much more to do before you finish?

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Christina says:

    There’s a lot more depth to this work as I can see the trail of carriages emerging to life 😊 It will be so beautiful once complete.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Helen you got a lot done. Wheels and a whole other car behind it. Is this for a gift when you are finished?

    Liked by 1 person

    • This is one of a set of two (other is still unopened), which my father had bought for me for Christmas 2004. Unfortunately he died suddenly just before Christmas so was never able to give me the gift himself. So it will both definitely be kept by me.

      Like

  12. craftycreeky says:

    Great progress, it’s lovely seeing this picture emerge over the weeks 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  13. lbick says:

    Looks great. I bet it was a relief to know the halves met like they were supposed to. I had to pick out a whole section because mine didn’t. I’m sure you’ll find something that matches your color.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Your stitching is almost there! I hope you can find acceptable threads to finish. I love your cards – I too have many stamps, but not the skill to use them to make cards. I have been taking a ceramics class and am now using some of them on my pottery.

    Like

    • What a great idea, at least they are not sitting there wasting. You will have to pop a picture up of one of your ceramic pots with the stamping I am sure it will be interesting to see. I assume you are stamping into the damp clay to leave impressions.

      Like

  15. lbick says:

    It’s looking great! I like your project so much I ordered one for myself. 😀

    Like

    • Wow, that’s amazing. I hope you stitch it quicker than I have. I haven’t actually done any stitching (apart from a little on my holiday project when we went to Oxfordshire for a few day) for about a month now I have been so busy with charity cards but I am almost finished them all for Christmas now – only mine to do which can be done at leisure.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

