The Magpie in me

Chatting with another crafting friend recently she was telling me of her new craft room and the clearing out of her old one.  She remarked that she had found a box full of the most boring decoupage and couldn’t imagine why she had bought it in the first place, then laughing she asked if I wanted it for my charity cards.  Well how could the magpie in me refuse.  So I have cut out and pressed out decoupage and put into little bags for over a week now (alas it was eating into stitching time but it had to be done and I am now stitching again in the evenings).  All this cutting, pressing out etc has led to  a marathon card making stint and e13 I will share some of them with you .  I have done my best to make these look modern and cheerful and I am sure there will be someone who likes them, maybe just because they are different.  I have grouped them together so there is not so much to scroll through.

a8

Well if you have reached this point you deserve a medal and I thank you so much for sticking with it.  Next time I will try to have a post that is a little more interesting (I don’t think that will be too hard.

Hugs to you all

signature

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About stitchingranny

I am one of those people who need to have busy hands so whether its stitching or papercrafting, I am always doing something. I also love being in the garden, though hubby does most of the work there these days.
This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Magpie in me

  1. Wow you’ve been busy! Those grey flower shapes are so effective on a card, but I’d not have looked twice in a shop

    Like

  2. It took me a while to decide what to do with them and in the end I just though if I threaded them on a brad so they could be turned round they might look ok. I don’t think they turned out too bad in the end. Some times good to find yourself challenged.

    Like

  3. omg wow!! i am in awe. What beautiful cards. They are really lovely.

    Like

  4. Thanks so much for your kind words Tammy. I was so afraid no one would like them, though I did the best I could with what I had.

    Like

  5. kathyreeves says:

    Wow you have been busy! You took someone else’s “junk” and made it into something beautiful.

    Like

    • Thank you Kathy. I always try to remind myself that we all have different tastes and so as long as I do my best hopefully someone will like what I made.

      Liked by 1 person

      • kathyreeves says:

        That is a great philosophy. It is especially true of cards, so many different preferences out there. You really do well at stretching things. So many of the cards I might not be drawn to the style, yet you create a lovely package, and in my head I think, Mrs. D would like that , etc. you have a true gift for that!

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Wow! you’ve worked wonders with these Helen – I love the little birdie ones and some of those florals are very pretty too. You know what they say, “one man’s rubbish is another man’s treasure…….”. (I wouldn’t have been able to turn down a freebie like that either!!) 😀

    Like

  7. There are still lots of the little birdies left though I did use all the little backing plates for them. They will, I am sure, pop up as embellishments for other cards from time to time.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

