I don’t crotchet…

Well at least in the last 40 years ..  When I was in my teens crotchet was very popular and I was never without something to do then later when I married I made lots of pretty lacy crotchet mats for my home (very fashionable back then), and when my children were born there were little crotchet jackets and for my daughter lots of lovely little dresses and tops.  However its years now since I last had a go, but my craft room needed a boost.  I have lots and lots of left over wool from the days when I used to knit and so decided that they would make a nice crotched throw for the dull black sofa.   My tension leaves a lot to be desired and there are some mistakes in there that a blind man would love to see (but the rest of you may not), so pleased do not look to closely, as I now present the new and cheery sofa right here in my craft room.

sofa blanket 2017

Despite the flaws I love it, but had I backtracked each time I found one, it would have been in the bin and never made it to the craft room.  I do not have the patience nowaday’s, and have reached the conclusion, that life is never going to be 100 % perfect, so get on and love it the way it is.

Hugs to all and thanks for taking the time to read my ramblings

signature

About stitchingranny

I am one of those people who need to have busy hands so whether its stitching or papercrafting, I am always doing something. I also love being in the garden, though hubby does most of the work there these days.
This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to I don’t crotchet…

  1. Fabulous use of scraps Helen – I love it!!

    Like

  2. claire93 says:

    don’t be too critical of your work Helen! this crochet piece is lovely and bright, made .
    from scraps, so it didn’t cost you anything lol . . . and will surely be a reminder of all the yarn projects you made! I love it.

    Like

    • Thank you Claire, I didn’t mean to sound to critical as I am happy with it, but I know there are some who follow my blog who do stunning crotchet work and I would hate to try and compare myself with them.

      Like

  3. Lovely!! You sure did a great job with color coordinating ! I love it too!!

    Like

  4. Thank you Ruthie, its actually quite hard to make it completely random but not get clashing colours lol. So I think I made a pretty good fist of it.

    Like

  5. This looks great, love how cheery it is

    Like

  6. Catherine says:

    It looks great! A very happy addition to your craft room

    Like

  7. lucyannluna says:

    Looks fantastic

    Like

  8. kathyreeves says:

    What a great dab of cheer for your old black sofa! I bet the room is transformed, and looks at all the scraps you made into something lovely! Wins all around in my book!

    Like

  9. Thanks your your comment Kathy. The old black sofa never looked very welcoming and therefore was just used as extra storage space (crafters – we never have enough) – now it will be used for sitting on.

    Like

  10. It’s lovely! I never worry myself about mistakes, after all, it’s handmade, not machine made

    Like

Leave a Reply

