Thoughts on Travel.

I must start this post with an apology.  In my last post one of the pictures of Dubrovnik was of (what I had been told ) the Maritime Museum.  Well Cavtatlady, who is Croatian  and from Dubrovnik contacted me, and I apparently told you wrong on two counts.  This is actually Fort Lovrijenace, and though it looks like it is on the wrong side of the wall, it is still part of the Old City Wall.  I therefore apologies for giving you the wrong information and thank Cavtatlady for pointing me in the right direction.  It did however start my brain ticking.

The very first holiday we ever had abroad was back in 1967.  We had just become engaged and our reasoning told us that if we ever wanted to see something of the world it had to be “NOW”.  In a few years time we would be married, have a home to run and possibly children to look after, so never again would we be in a position where we could afford to go abroad.  The place we chose for our first adventure was in the then Yugoslavian Repubic at a place called Pula.  We could not afford to fly so went on a Cosmos coach, via the ferry, Belgium, Germany, Austria and down to Trieste in Italy and into Yugoslavia.  Apart from odd coffee stops we actually only saw these countries as a blur through a coach window but it made us feel well travelled lol.  Yugoslavia however was really another world, we fell in love, and to this day I have never been anywhere where the sea could be compared with the stunning turquoise colour that we saw back then. (and it still is that colour so it was not our imagination).

We did not travel again until 1985 when fate stepped in and my hubby was sent to a little place called Saidpur, in Bangladesh, to work for a year.   We could neither uproot the children or leave them, so it meant a year of separation for us.  The children and I however did have the chance to visit him for a month and in January 1986 a terrified me, boarded an aircraft with two very excited children.  I had never flown before but did not want to pass my fear on.  Things were very different in those days and once we were well into the flight the stewardess (who by this time knew our life story from the children) came to fetch us to inspect the cockpit.  We were taken down and spent almost an hour there, chatting to the captain and his crew and being shown how everything worked.  I do not think you would stand a chance of that happening today.

When we finally arrived we spent two days in Dhaka, before taking another flight and flying off for a weeks holiday together in Nepal,  the differences between the country we had left, Bangladesh and Nepal was immense and suddenly I realised that there was far more than just the countryside and scenery involved .  Colour, culture and customs added to some of the stunning or not so stunning scenery but each was like opening a new book and both hubby and I were completely hooked.

On our return to normal life a year later we took the children to Spain for a week, but on our return, though they both said they had enjoyed it, the general opinion was they preferred going to Devon or Wales, where they understood everyone and had far more freedom.   Our travels went on hold until the early 90’s when at last the children were old enough to be left and we started our adventures.

So that is how we became travellers, but my mind fills with memories of many places and try as I may I find it impossible to choose the most beautiful or the most interesting.

It would have  been nice to have shared some pictures but we have a whole dresser full of pictures, many are faded and discoloured now but the best pictures are here in my head, I can still hear the noise as we stepped off the aircraft in Dhaka, I can still see the many smiling faces and the hands that reached out hoping to touch the children’s white blonde hair as we stepped out of the airport.  And I still see the old gentleman who slapped some of those hands away and then turned and in stilted English explained, they mean no harm but they have never seen anyone with white hair before, you all look so different.  It is nice to have pictures that may jog your memory, but the best camera is right there in your head.

I hope you enjoyed hearing how we began to travel.  For the youngsters today who travel from an early age I would say, you are so lucky, your world is so much larger than mine was as a child, so appreciate, learn, respect other cultures, even though you may not agree with them and most of all enjoy this wonderful world we are given.

Hugs

http___signatures.mylivesignature.com_54492_390_F48FDCE4F0DF5C1EF5242CFFE07F1049

About stitchingranny

I am one of those people who need to have busy hands so whether its stitching or papercrafting, I am always doing something. I also love being in the garden, though hubby does most of the work there these days.
This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thoughts on Travel.

  1. Jan Doling says:

    Helen, I love to hear and read about your travels even though I am a very unseasoned traveller having only visited a total of five other countries outside the UK. Your way of travelling where you immerse yourself in the culture of different countries certainly appeals to me but I don’t think I will ever persuade DH to join me. I must admit that there are so many places in the UK that I still want to visit that I don’t really mind but would love to return to Norway one day (especially now I use better camera technology) but like you, I still hold those wonderful sights and memories in my head. xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

