The Splodge

This is “Such is the Way of Fairies” by Stephanie Pui-Mun Law ( a H.A.E.D design). However for reasons I am sure you can see I call it The Splodge.
DSCF2650
This is how it looked yesterday and this is how it looked the last time I finished stitching on it, which was in June 2008.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
It does not look like I did very much but I spent my time trying to fill in the odd stitches I had not done before, and then squaring it up. I have promised myself that I will stick to one square at a time and not do, as I was trying to before, one colour at a time which ends up leaving me with hundreds of holes to fill in. I do not think there is any easy way to do a HAED design but having seen many done I am hoping that all the effort will be worth it and it will look as stunning as I hope. Though this one is not for me it is for my daughter, who is supposed to be stitching a similar one by the same designer so that they can hang as a pair. Come on darling daughter, now you have started stitching again I think its time to get the HAED out.

The next one out is “Gracious Era” which has not seen the light of day since December 2009.

This week I have been really busy making cards for my charity. As some of you know I make my cards and send them to the chairman of The Pahar Trust, Nepal. He then sells them when he does Public Speaking at things like British Legion clubs and Lions clubs, this way they raise far more than I could get if I stood on a freezing cold market trying to sell them.  They are going to be in so much need of support after the recent earquake and devastation in Nepal, and though I sent a big box out to them only a couple of weeks back I know they sell quickly and are, for them, an easy source of income. Not a great source but pennies make pounds as the saying goes and every little will help.

All for now folks, off to make more cards, but will see you soon I hope.

Hugs

http___signatures.mylivesignature.com_54492_390_F48FDCE4F0DF5C1EF5242CFFE07F1049

About stitchingranny

I am one of those people who need to have busy hands so whether its stitching or papercrafting, I am always doing something. I also love being in the garden, though hubby does most of the work there these days.
This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Splodge

  1. Christine says:

    Hi Helen, I’m glad i “found” you again (or you found me really I suppose). You’re right the HAED doesn’t look like anything much at the moment but I’m sure it will be stunning when it is done

    Like

  2. Jan Doling says:

    Good luck with the HAED Helen, you have more patience than me but I know it will look wonderful when you have finished it. xx

    Like

  3. thanks Jan. As for the patience – well we will see, after all it is almost 7 years since I last touched it.

    Like

  4. claire93 says:

    I have a similar type of “splodge” project in my UFO drawer and haven’t touched it in over a year.
    I thinkg stitchers of HAED or other huge charts tend to work in 10×10 stitch blocks, but I agree it’s very difficult to stitch to that as you have to “park” threads as you go and I tend to get things tangled up.

    Like

Leave a Reply

