FIVE ON FRIDAY

Today for the first time I wish to join the lovely people who post “Five on Friday”, I explained a little about this last Sunday if you wish to pop back and look.

Anyway here goes with my five for this  week, they are all taken in my front garden

DSCF2580 - Copy
When I celebrated my 60th birthday, some years ago, a friend gave me a white planting box, full of spring bulbs that would produce white flowers. I have added many more white tulips (and other white bits) to my front garden since then.
DSCF2579 - Copy
The trouble with buying bulbs loose is people move them about so you do not always get what you are expecting.
Hence we have a few yellow and even one solitary pink tulip among the white. Does it bother me, no I love every flower that is sent my way. You can just about see one of the original white hyacinths here too.

DSCF2582 - Copy
and I do have other colours in the garden too. Originally though I just kept it to white with the occasional blue things here and there, like this tiny blue gentia flower which flowers for ages and ages.

DSCF2583 - Copy
another one that was bought as “white”, but mother nature decided should have colour.

And finally,
DSCF2581 - Copy
more white ones.

People often ask what is your favourite flower. In all honesty I have to say, it is whatever flower I look at, I have never seen and ugly flower, like people they all have different kinds of beauty.

Thank you for taking the time to share a little of my life

http___signatures.mylivesignature.com_54492_390_F48FDCE4F0DF5C1EF5242CFFE07F1049

About stitchingranny

I am one of those people who need to have busy hands so whether its stitching or papercrafting, I am always doing something. I also love being in the garden, though hubby does most of the work there these days.
This entry was posted in Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to FIVE ON FRIDAY

  1. Thank you so much for joining in! It is great to have you taking part. Your flowers are beautiful aren’t they, it is so funny that you have tried so hard to plant white things, but you keep getting colours, perhaps nature is trying to tell us all that we need more colour!! White goes with everything though doesn’t it! I hope that you have a great weekend! xx

    Like

  2. You do have lots of flowers. I don’t have do many white one though. Hyacinth, Lilly if the valley, snowdrops are finished and later Canterbury bells. Glad you gave joined in. Enjoy !

    Like

  3. Look at those flowers! My daffodils and tulips are just peeking out of the ground. It has been warm here in my part of Ontario, Canada near Toronto so hopefully in the next week or so we’ll have a show of colour as pretty as yours!. Found you through Five on Friday. Come pop by and see me!
    http://www.queenbcreativeme.blogspot.com

    Like

  4. Jan Doling says:

    Lovely photos of your flowers Helen. Was going to join in this week with five on Friday but forgot about it and used all my photos from the week on another blog post. Fingers crossed I can join in next week. xx

    Like

  5. If you do that next week Jan, you will just have to go out and take some more on Friday morning lol.

    Like

  6. Rosie says:

    Beautiful flowers in your garden. I too love white flowers and this time of year things like the plum blossom and spiraea are just comming out. Thank you for leaving a comment on my blog. It seems we possibly tread the same paths around the East MIdlands, especially Derbyshire:)

    Like

  7. Beautiful blooms. I’m visiting from Five on Friday, which I just joined a couple of weeks ago, and my five are all garden related too.

    Like

  8. Hello and welcome to Amy’s blog hop! It’s full of lovely people, I’m sure you will love it! These are such beautiful pictures. I love white flowers too and that sounds like a wonderful birthday present, I might have to borrow that one. I bet your garden is lovely. Have a great weekend x

    Like

  9. Judy says:

    I love this time of year when things in the garden start to appear like long-forgotten friends. I’m not sure whether I’ve ever seen white tulips growing before – yours are beautiful. All the best, Judy.

    Like

  10. Karen says:

    Such beautiful flowers, a joy to see thank you 🙂

    Like

  11. Linda says:

    Hello Helen and thank you for visiting my blog and leaving lovely comments. Your flowers are lovely I too love all flowers whatever they are they each have their own beauty but there is something special about spring bulbs. 🙂

    Like

  12. A planting box full of spring bulbs – what a thoughtful gift! Thank you for sharing your pics, Helen, they are lovely. Hope you are having a good weekend. x

    Like

  13. Linda says:

    It’s lovely to see your garden coming to life so many lovely plants and a pond! I have always wanted a pond it must be so much fun to watch the wildlife. Thank you for visiting and leaving a lovely reassuring comment on my blog. 🙂 xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

