Yesterday bought a HAPPY DANCE my way as I put the last stiches into Bear House. Now I have finished this one I am not sure what to do with it. I originally started it as a gift for a child, but now I cannot even remember which child, and all my friends children and grandchildren are now reaching or have reached their teens. It is not something I want to keep so its up for grabs if anyone wants it to either frame or make into a quilt or a pillow, let me know and if there are a few of you I will have a draw.
and here it is:-
DSCF2563

SO I AM NOW WORKING ON MY NEW ROTA (as listed in my last post). The first one being Village of my Heart.
I do not know how long I will work on each piece. I am not setting any time restrictions as if I am enjoying something then I will not want to put it down and if (as I suspect with the HAED) one or two evenings work is a struggle then I will pass it over and move one. I always say that if I have done 10 stitches it will be 10 less to need completing so no hang ups – its my hobby and it will be fun or else lol.

For anyone who does not know about Village of My Heart, then I will explain (if you do know just skip this paragraph). A few years back someone suggested that as it was getting expensive, postage wise, to do round robins, the it would be fun to start up one that was stitched by Me, Myself and I. We would all post on a regular basis as we had completed a section and our theme would be houses. The lady who started it opened a blog type site, where all members could post there pics and comments. It was greeted with much excitement and people were so enthusiastic that the first group was too big and a second group was started. My choice for this came about by a verse I had found called A village of my heart. I decided to split the verse into 4 sections and put it around a table cloth and then do and English country village scene around the edge of the cloth, under the verse. I found all the little cottages I could and then played with them making them a little larger or a little smaller so that they were all something like the same sort of size. Then a couple of friends said they wished they could live in my village . The seed sewn I decided that in each of the homes I created one of my friends would live. As I come to stitch each cottage I ask the friend that it is stitched for what they would like there, a red door, a cat on the wall a horse, a stream and a rabbit and in one case a pink car. This will be a lasting memory of my friends for years to come so I hope you will enjoy watching my village grow. Unfortunately I do not think anyone ever bothered with the group after the first month or so, some never getting started and others racing through and finishing a small piece quite quickly. I am eternally grateful to the lady who suggested this though as though its taking a long time I have enjoyed every stitch I have put into this project and it is both very personal and a real treasure which I hope my daughter will love too in time to come.

Thank you once again for reading my blog and to the old friends who still come by I apologise for going through the whole story of my tablecloth once again.

Hugs to all
http___signatures.mylivesignature.com_54492_390_F48FDCE4F0DF5C1EF5242CFFE07F1049

may your frogs stay in their ponds

About stitchingranny

I am one of those people who need to have busy hands so whether its stitching or papercrafting, I am always doing something. I also love being in the garden, though hubby does most of the work there these days.
This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to

  1. Jan Doling says:

    Well done on your finish Helen. I am looking forward to seeing your progress on Village Of My Heart, I very much liked what you had stitched last time I saw it. xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

