A Couple of Nellies!

I adore elephants and when I saw the cute little one from Tattered Lace dies I just could not resist.  Today I want to share a couple of cards I made using this die.

DSCF1842DSCF1843
This first one was using another of the fancy shaped cards I had in my stock pile.  I used a pink co-ordinations card, embossed with a Couture Creations embossing folder called “Tied Together”, and lightly sanded back.  The checked paper was a small oddment I had left from somewhere and of course Nellie was made using an oddment.  A few gems to finish off.  I was not sure how to do an insert and making a card without one is like having a wrapper with no sweetie inside.  I finally decided to scan it and take it into serif.  I then coloured it to match the elephant (they look completely different here but I assure you they are the same colour.  I scanned my die cut and did it pink to match the co-ordinations paper (though it did turn out a little darker it is, as before, the same shade), and I was quite pleased with the result.

 

 

 

DSCF1862

 

I cannot resist turning nothing into something.

The next one was more an up-cycling project lol.

The greens and yellows were all from my scrap box.

The quilt squares, each 4cm square were made from the little paint swatch cards I picked up at B&Q when we were trying to decide what colour to go with in my new craft  room.   I trimmed them down to size popped them into Tattered Lace corner dies and I think the result is quite pleasing.  Watch out B&Q I could become addicted to these little swatches.

 

I have one other card to share with you, though I am not really happy with it.  It is a pretty card, but it is a parchment card and I am fairly new to the art of parchment.  Some bits I find fairly easy.  I do not have too much trouble with tracing, embossing, pricking etc.. and I have (after reading up on it) treated myself to some dorso crayons and used them fairly well too. DSCF1856 Howevcr the bit I like best about parchment is the cutting and I just do not seem to be mastering this as I would like. I love to see all the little crosses and delicate lacey designs but I am far from skilled enough to tackle anything complicated. Unfortunately I know that this is mainly down to lack of practice and I really must make more time to do this. Oh please God can you give me one day each wee that has 48 hours in it as I am sure this will help.  The bit I like best about the whole card is the ribbon effect across the back, my second attempt at dorsing.

We  are off for a little sunshine break next week and I have sorted a few chart out, all need cutting of one type or another so hopefully when I come back I will be a master cutter ha ha.

 

Thank you for visiting ,

http___signatures.mylivesignature.com_54492_390_F48FDCE4F0DF5C1EF5242CFFE07F1049

About stitchingranny

I am one of those people who need to have busy hands so whether its stitching or papercrafting, I am always doing something. I also love being in the garden, though hubby does most of the work there these days.
This entry was posted in Cards. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Couple of Nellies!

  1. Jan Doling says:

    Helen, I just love your elephant cards. You are so talented with the ideas you come up with. Enjoy your sunshine break. Jan xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

