Happy New Year !

Yes I know I am three weeks late but the wish in no less sincere for that. Unfortunately this year began with me on deaths doorstep (not literally, though it felt like it) and suffering from the dreaded bug that is doing the rounds at the moment.

I have managed to do a little crafting but I am rather restricted at the moment. This003 has become, this 001 .

My craft room is having a long overdue revamp. When my daughter left home, almost 10 years ago, her bedroom became my craft room. We did buy some bookcase units to hold my crafting stash but then it was an old kitchen table, a set of old kitchen draws and boxes stacked here and there. The table wobbled, the room had awful purple carpet and the far corner had an obsolete airing cupboard fitted in it. Now the airing cupboard and the carpet are gone. Today the electrician has been and I have 4 double plug sockets – three along the wall where my craft bench will be and one in the corner on the opposite side of the room, just in case. No more trailing wires to catch your foot in – hurray. I am therefore crafting on the dining room table at the moment. Ok that is where I crafted when DD lived at home but there was far less stash in those days and far less things that I needed to do my crafting.

I decided to make a challenge of it and before moving everything out of sight, I gathered some essentials. Glue, scissors, rule, work mat, paper cutter etc and some stash. For the stash I picked out a good pile of the cards I have had bought me over the years that are shaped. I do not dislike shaped cards but I have never had the time to think about what to do with them, so I haven’t done anything. A box of scrap paper, a box of assorted backing papers an old box of toppers, some card, and a box of gems. I soon realised I forgot ribbon but though I did manage to retrieve some it was the bag of creams and a bit of blue, the other colours were out of reach so I have managed without. I have been quite pleased with what I have achieved with this limited stock and I will put some of them onto my card page if anyone is interested in looking.

On the stitching front I put everything else away and had a new start as I was about to take part in a round robin. Unfortunately one of the girls taking part has a problem with her arm so rather than start without her we decided to postpone it until her arm is better. This however turned out fortunate for me as the chart I had chosen really had more work in it than I would have been willing to ask others to do. This is the start (the bit that was supposed to be my bit) 004 it is a chart by Karan Avery called Seasons Change.

Now I am back in the land of the living I hope to try and keep up to date better, so I shall speak to you again soon.

Hugs
http___signatures.mylivesignature.com_54492_390_F48FDCE4F0DF5C1EF5242CFFE07F1049
May your frogs stay in their ponds.

About stitchingranny

I am one of those people who need to have busy hands so whether its stitching or papercrafting, I am always doing something. I also love being in the garden, though hubby does most of the work there these days.
This entry was posted in Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy New Year !

  1. Jan Doling says:

    Helen, I love your new blog and looking forward to reading your posts and keeping up with what you are up to. Well done on finishing the Quiltmaker and good luck with progress on some of your other UFO’s. Your revamped craft room will be great, cannot wait to see photos of the finished product! Jan xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

